What’s a Flamenco-dancing soon to be Columbia Graduate to do?


What is the question that all graduating seniors dread, “What are you going to do next year?” With no internship lined up for the fall or spring, no job prospects, and no real interest in pursuing my major as a career option, what should I do? Enter: an epiphany.  Why not pursue something that actually interests me?  Why not pursue a career in dance?

Dance has always been my passion, but should I have it as a hobby or pursue it as a full-time job?  The Center for Career Education website has a number of spring internship possibilities listed through their Columbia Arts Experience program.  The CUarts website has an extensive list as well.  While these internships would immerse me in the arts, they won’t provide any opportunities for me to perform.  Since as a dancer, the longer you wait to actually dance and perform, the less time you will have to do it, I’ve started thinking about grants and fellowships to help me break into the field.

Fulbright is an organization that provides a large amount of funding for a specific scholarly project.  The mtvU fellowship offers a way to try and interact with different cultures and share those traditions through music.  Being especially interested in Flamenco, relating American music and Spanish music to explore the cultural differences and similarities and to promote relations between the two to further artistic endeavors might be something super interesting.

And if all else fails, I can literally use my two feet and dance.  There are numerous dance companies in NYC including Carlota Santana’s company Flamenco Vivo, or the Metropolitan Opera, companies in other states, or even companies in other countries that could possibly be in need of a talented recent Columbia graduate with a major in Economics and Spanish.  With these resources, I hope to discover what exactly my place in the dance world will be.  All I know for sure is that my love of dance is what’s going to push me, inspire me, and help me find that place wherever it my be.

Mary Baird
CC ’10

This entry was posted in Career Education, Dance, Jobs and Internships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s a Flamenco-dancing soon to be Columbia Graduate to do?

  1. Hieu Pham says:

    I think it’s really cool that you want to pursue flamenco dancing even further. I saw you dance before and you were fantastic. I’ll say that you apply for a Fulbright and see where that takes you. Good luck!

  2. Raul Dominguez says:

    Mary,

    Your posts are so insightful and remind me of the time when I was an undergraduate at Columbia. Great to see the university is trying to expose students to the arts! Keep it up!

    Regards,

    Raul

  3. Gracie says:

    beautiful website “my place” love it!

  4. Sylvia says:

    Hi, I can totally relate. I have always had a passion for dance but I felt obligated to pursue a career that offeed a more ‘stable’ future. My decision was fear driven and I applaud your courage for pursuing your passion. I have studied flamenco and a variety of other dance forms for years and hope to pursue a career in dance myself. It took me longer than you to finally realize the importance of pursing your passion regardless of what other forces my prevent you from doing so.

Comments are closed.