Born To Dance. Trained To Heal

Back in August, I attended an Open Mic night at the Med School campus on 168th Street. My colleague, Julia, and I discussed informally how CUMC students, faculty, and staff could use our programs and how we could support their own arts.

Enter three extraordinary individuals (Sayuri Jinadasa, Quinn Leslie, and Frances Onyimba) and their idea to create the P&S Dance Club

Them: Do you think that something like this could happen?

Us: Absolutely.

Them: Do you think we can find enough people?

Photo by Anne Holland

Flash forward from that moment to this past Saturday, March 27th, 2010. Not only is the orchestra and the balcony of the auditorium packed, but there are also 53 dancers, a tech crew of four, and cameos from 5 faculty totaling over 17 pieces all bringing together one of the most entertaining and moving events that I’ve had at the theatre in years.

I laughed, I cried, and…trust and believe…it was far more purrfect than Cats.

Photo by Anne Holland

The night included ballet, bollywood, modern dance, bhangra, hip-hop, salsa, swing, Lady Gaga, and Incubus – songs and styles as diverse as the happy feet of the performers. One number that still has me chortling is a medicinal take on Amy Winehouse’s “Rehab” replete with walkers, canes, and surgical gowns.

When I’m hobbling along on a walker, I want these professionals helping me take care of myself. Their awareness of their own bodies and their ability to heal (whether through their craft or their arts) is inspiring.

Photo by Anne Holland

Meet the Meds…their passion is contagious.

****

Chad Miller
Events and Outreach Manager

About chadder

Cogito ergo blog.
This entry was posted in Dance, Graduate performing groups, Student Organizations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.