Student Profile Series: Christina Quintana

Christina tells us about her newest play, Enter Your Sleep, which will have a workshop production at Schapiro Studio on the Columbia Campus, March 2nd – 4th.

1) What is Enter Your Sleep about?

ENTER YOUR SLEEP is about two life-long best friends, a man, P.K. Whylde, and a woman, Glory Zico, who, after a long separation, meet in their dreams.  Throughout the wild ride that is their night of dreams, Z and P.K. visit their worst fears and challenge one another and themselves as they transform into figures from their lives and imaginations. At last, they are forced to confront the reality of growing up and moving on.

2) What inspired you to write it?

I’m a heavy dreamer and sleep talker and have, particularly over the past year, become excessively fascinated with dreams.

Also, I was in the middle of writing about some intense topics, so I said to myself: I just want to write a play about me and my best friend being ridiculous and goofy.  As Lauren Sowa, who plays Zico pointed out, “Well it is that, but it’s also pretty intense!” It’s the best of both worlds.

When I began writing EYS, I really wanted to see how far I could go. Could lomein fall from the sky? What would it be like to have projection and fairy tale and song and transformation all together in one crazy adventure? A lot of my favorite theatre involves a healthy mixture of multiple elements.

3) Have there been any challenges in writing this play? If  so, what are they?

This is probably the most personal piece I’ve ever written, so that made it particularly challenging. Whenever I went to work on it, I was actually scared by what lay ahead– that’s how I knew it was a project I really needed to finish.

Also, it’s a crazy-fabulous dream world wonderland, so a lot of developing the play has been identifying and solidifying the rules of the world. Much thanks goes to my brilliant director Jonathan McCrory (who will never admit to his brilliance, which probably makes him more brilliant). So yes: challenging, but awesome!

(I’m working hard not to abuse the exclamation point here.)

4) Why should people come see it?

Come see Enter Your Sleep because not only will you have a hell of a good time, it’ll give you permission to feel something. Plays are called plays for a reason, right? There’s a lot of play inEnter Your Sleep, but it also makes me tear up during nearly every rehearsal– as my lovely team will gladly attest.

5) What are your long-term goals for this play?

The goal is to push toward a full production with my A-team in 2013. I’d just like to see it have a continued life. I’ve been really moved to see how many people have had a kooky/undefinable friendship like PK and Zico’s. I hope you get to meet them! Onward and upwards!

Don’t miss A Workshop Production of ENTER YOUR SLEEP:

Featuring Jonathan Hooks and Lauren Sowa*

March 2 & 3 at 8 pm

March 3 & 4 at 2 pm

Schapiro Studio, 605 115th, between Broadway and Riverside Dr.

To reserve your free tickets to this production, please email enteryoursleep@gmail.com with your full name, the date of the performance you wish to attend, and the number of seats you wish to reserve.

– Meropi Peponides, Theatre MFA, 2013

This entry was posted in Theater and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.